PongSat build log: Bill of materials


Select the components has not been easy. They had to be small, cheap, reliable, get along with each other, consume very little power and in some cases handle temperatures down to ‑60°C!

IMG_20140629_094042

I have revised the list several times, trying to include what I had in the lab and I can say for this first version to be satisfied. I wanted also to include a camera (optical sensor), but because of the little space and limited computing power this was not possible. I’m planning a new mission with two PongSat able to talk to each other, one of which is dedicated to taking pictures.

The power supply side, as often happens, is the one that gave me the most trouble. I decided to include the GPS not being able to go without the position (and altitude) and I had to accept a total consumption of about 70mAh. With these absorptions I couldn’t use most of the small lithium batteries.

Role Make Model Cost Volts Remarks
MCU Sparkfun Arduino Pro Mini 328 3.3V 8Mhz €7.48 3.5‑12V I wanted to use an ATMega328P on a PCB, but during the final assembly there was not enough space
GPS HobbyKing NEO-6M Module €13.88 3.3‑?V Serial, ublox NEO6M
IMU Sparkfun 9 DoF IMU €22.22 2.4‑3.6V I2C, STMicroelectronics LSM9DS0
Storage Sparkfun Breakout Board for microSD €7.37 3.3V SPI, Sandisk premier 2GB microsd card
Thermocouple Adafruit Analog Output K-Type Thermocouple Amplifier – AD8495 Breakout €8.80 3‑18V
LED Adafruit RGB Smart NeoPixel €1.47 5‑9V Works dimmed on 3.3V
Battery HobbyKing Turnigy 260mah 1S 35-70C €2.18 4.2‑3V
Heater 3 resistors 220 Ohms €0.10 1/4W

For a grand total of €61.62.

Project objectives and constraints | Index

Do you want to improve my translation? Let me know…

2 thoughts on “PongSat build log: Bill of materials

Leave a Reply

